Pumpkin Custard

Just like many, I’m obsessed with pumpkin spice and get excited about all the pumpkin spice flavored foods that come out. My absolute favorite is pumpkin pie but with all the dairy and fat in it, it’s not GP friendly for me at least. So I looked around online at pumpkin custard recipes and decided to tweak it a bit to make it low fat and dairy free. Even though my stomach is very sensitive right now, this didn’t give me much problems and my parents loved it as well. I prefer it cold but you’re welcome to eat it right out of the oven! If you miss pumpkin pie this will make a great addition at Thanksgiving.

Ingredients

  • 1 Can of Pumpkin (15oz)
  • 3 Egg Whites
  • 1 1/2 Cups of Almond Milk
  • 3/4 Cup of Sweetner (I used maple syrup but dark brown sugar would be good too!)
  • 1 Tsp of Cinnamon
  • 1/2 Tsp of Pumpkin Spice
  • 1 Tsp of Salt
  • 1 Tbsp of Cornstarch

Preheat the oven to 350F. Mix together all the ingredients together, be sure to add in the cornstarch first so it dissolves well with all the ingredients. Pour the mixture into ramekins or a pie pan (I used 3 large ramekins and had some of the mixture left over). Place into the oven and allow it to cook for 40-60mins (mine were pretty deep so I cooked it for an hour). Take it out of the oven and allow to cool so that it solidifies even more. Place into the fridge once it cools down if you’re not eating it right away. Enjoy!

                                                        IMG_1769

Leave a comment